Melk Abbey was resurrected through the tireless efforts of Abbot Berthold Dietmayr with his team of architects Joseph Munggenast and Jakob Prandtauer. Between 1702 -1736 they worked hard to build a sacred palace upon the medieval monastery foundations. Other craftsmen and artists involved in the restoration of Melk Abbey include Antonio Beduzzi, Johann Michael, Peter Widerin, Giuseppe Galli-Bibiena, Paul Troger and Lorenzo Mattielli. With the sarcophagus on the left side of the alter containing the skeleton of St. Colomon, the remains of St. Benedict are apparently in the sarcophagus to the right side of the alter.
No sightseeing tour of Europe or the town of Melk would be complete without a day trip and walking tour to Melk Abbey. With stunning apricot hues, the baroque style architecture of Melk Abbey is picture post-card perfect. With red marble pilasters, stucco marble walls and a breathtaking ceiling fresco resembling Greek mythology inside the Marble Hall, the Melk Abbey is a must-visit destination. Featuring a library with over 16,000 volumes the main hall has a stunning spiral staircase leading to 12 library rooms with over 100,000 volumes. With volumes spanning different languages including English, Latin and Hebrew and topics including medicine, history and law many all the books in Melk Abbey have historical and cultural significance. This significant monastic library is said to have been the inspiration for Italian writer Umberto Eco's "The Name of the Rose".
Rich in history Melk Abbey is today operating as a co-educational school with over 900 students enrolled.